One for my friends..

The last few weeks I’ve rambled on about life. My life here in London. How stressed I am. Flatmate this. House of horrors that. Blah blah blah. But you know what? My life is actually great.

I know. It’s a change of heart. I’ve had a reality check.

Friends of mine, close friends, are dealing with more than just ‘stress’. Their stuff is real and painful. Mine will be forgotten or laughed about later. Theirs is so heavy, it’s palpable.

So I have taken a step back. Out of my own head. Taken the blinkers off.

Maybe it’s because I’ve worked in birthing suites and aged care that I have such an enormous sense of mortality. Life and death. You just never know. I’ve never been into saving the good china for a ‘special occasion’. And I have a bucket list. On it are things that I plan to do when I’m 90.

Someone asked me the other day if I think about ‘settling down’. For once I couldn’t think of anything to say. Not even an expletive. Settle down to what?

Nope. I’m off to see the world. Why? Because I don’t want to miss a thing. Not one. Sure. I don’t have a house or a horse float. But I go places. I see things. I meet people.  I wish you could come with me.

So this week I dedicate this post to my darling friends who for various reasons are reeling from the shock of a sharp blow. I think of you constantly and I’m here for you.

K xo

2 responses to “One for my friends..

  1. A lovely piece Darl

  2. Naw how I love you Kur xox

Leave a Reply

