Taper time

This is my fourth attempt at a post in nearly two weeks. Every post I’ve drafted has sounded woeful. I sound like I’m being sent to the Western Front.

It is true that now, while in my taper mode, I’m feeling slightly more energised. But I’m very nervous.

Even the event organisers seem to be finding it hard to muster up some inspiration. This week’s London Marathon e-newsletter had this quote at the top: “You have to forget your last marathon before you try another. Your mind can’t know what’s coming.” – said by Olympic gold medallist marathon runner, Frank Shorter.

Surely they could come up with something a bit better than that? Or did I miss the point?

Then I saw a tweet leading to the wiki page on the history of the London Marathon. Apparently, half a million people will line the streets of London to cheer on 40,000 marathoners.

Half a million? Imagine that? It gives me goose bumps just thinking about it.

I love all your words of encouragement by the way – they give me so much courage.

I know that it is natural to be nervous but, really, what am I afraid of? Ridicule? I’m OK with that. Injury? Been there. Walking? Hell, where’s the shame in that?

It is a growing tradition to print your name on your race t-shirt so that people can cheer you on… “C’arn Lodgey!”

So as I iron my name on to my Team MSRC t-shirt in preparation for the race, I will think of this: I am so damn lucky to have this opportunity.

Bring. It. On.

K xo

I am only half way towards my fundraising target. So – GO ON – if I can run this race, you can throw in a penny or two http://www.justgiving.com/KirstenLodge

MSRC

One response to “Taper time

  1. Hi Kirsten,
    I’ll be thinking of you next weekend and wishing you an amazing experience at the London Marathon.
    Three years ago I was one of the half million people cheering the marathon runners and walkers from a great vantage point just by Canada Water and while it was a great experience, it totally made me want to run it one day as that’s where the action was well and truly happening!
    If you can conquer ocean swimming you can soooo keep putting one foot in front of another on terra firma and ace the London Marathon!
    Kia kaha.
    Love Diana xxx
    ps- In August Chris and I will be in London for a couple of weeks so hopefully you’ll be around for a catch up.

Leave a Reply

